Tomato Apple Salsa (Vegan)

Happy New Year!

So, for my first blog, I just want to reflect on how good it feels to eat healthfully.  Oh man, all that holiday indulging in sweets and not enough fiber really stuffs you up and slows you down.  I truly enjoy the mental clarity that is a product of eating well and eating clean.  (Don’t get me wrong, I still got a sweet tooth no matter what!)  After all, food = nourishment/energy.

With that being said, here’s a recipe for a Tomato Apple salsa that my parents make all the time.  It’s great as a side to accompany fish, on top of salad or just by itself.  It’s bright flavours may help with eating in a greener and lighter direction.  Bonus: the acids aid digestion.

TOMATO APPLE SALSA (Vegan)

Equal parts:

-tomatoes (Roma and/or grape)
-white onions
-scallions
-cilantro
-red apple
-just a tiny bit of Sweet Gherkin pickle, finely chopped

Optional: grape tomatoes sliced length-wise for garnish.

You’ll want to chop everything down, mix and drizzle just a tiny bit of  Sweet Gherkin pickle juice for flavour which really goes well with the apple bits.  We usually hand chop everything but I suppose you could use a food processor.

You could even add nuts such as toasted slivered almonds.

Let me know how ya’ll like it!

PS  You can keep this in the fridge for up to a week, the textures and flavours being most crisp the first day.

~ by indigenousearthlingjme on January 4, 2010.

One Response to “Tomato Apple Salsa (Vegan)”

  1. Hooray J’me! Now I have something new to read.

    Ps. Love the veg/vegan recipe. I’m going to have to try that sometime.

    -Bern

Leave a Reply

 
